The American Wildfire Experience is led by executive director, Bethany E. Hannah.

Bethany has been involved in the wildland fire community for more than two decades and is a passionate advocate of understanding, examining, and illuminating our human relationship with fire. She began her career as a BLM and USFS Hotshot and most recently worked as the Interim Project Manager and a researcher at PyroLife, a research consortium in Europe.

She would love to hear from you. Connect with her here.

Our Board of Directors is comprised of a passionate group of wildland fire professionals and experts, including:

  • Bethany Hannah, President
  • Collin Haffey, Vice President (Coordinator, New Mexico State EMNRD)
  • Dr. Sasha Berleman, Secretary (Director, ACR Fire Forward)
  • Roy Miller, Treasurer (Fire Prevention, USFS)
  • Sam Marouk (Retired Director, Fire and Aviation Management, CA BLM)
  • Ken Pimlott (Retired Director, CAL FIRE)
  • Peter Carpenter (Retired Director, Menlo Park Fire Department)